Uglies (Uglies #1) by Scott Westerfeld

Uglies_1

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
Series: Uglies (#1)
Publisher: Simon Pulse (February 2005)
Genre:
Dystopia, YA
Pages:
425
Goodreads ◘ Amazon ◘ Bol.com

After Delirium and the Maze RunnerUglies was one of those other hyped-up dystopian young adult books that I hadn’t read yet. So in an attempt to clear out my to-read list I decided to pick this one up. Not that it did any good for my list, as I add at least two to three books for each one I read, but at least I’m trying.

It is funny how the dystopian books tend to highlight the faults of our modern day society. This time, with Uglies, Scott Westerfeld point towards beauty. Our standard of beauty, to be more precise. In Tally’s world, everyone gets a life-changing surgery at the age of sixteen. You go in ugly and after hours of refining, come out as a stunning beauty. No more unfairness, no more discrimination based on your looks. Problem solved you would think. But when Tally’s friend Shay decides she wants to stay herself and escapes from the city, Tally faces an ultimatum. Find her friend and bring her back, or stay ugly forever.

When I started reading this book, I had a lot of questions. I am generally not so very patient, and the thought of having to wait till book three for any answers made me cringe. But surprise! Almost all of my questions I had at the start were answered by the end! Now I don’t want to imply that this could have been a stand-alone. Westerfeld very tactically finished the story of this book but kept some threads to continue in the sequels.

This was how the whole book felt. Westerfeld being completely in control and having a solid story. Sometimes it felt a little too convenient and made up. Invented words as pretties, ugglies, littlies and so on made me feel the book was actually intended for toddlers. And they let Tally go find Shay by herself, really?! Why not give her a tracking device? And she can fly using her coat as a parachute?

So apart from the 1984 feeling that I had troughout the book, and the convenient completeness of the story, I was not overly excited. I know a lot of people that really enjoyed Uglies though, so if you generally like YA Dystopia, you should definitely still give it a shot.

Final rating: ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

