Book review: Trust (Between the Lions #1) by Jodi Baker

trust

Trust by Jodi Baker
Series: Between the Lions (#1)
Publisher: Between Lions Press (June 2015)
Genre:
Fantasy, YA
Pages:
214

I was not really looking forward to reading this book. I requested the ARC from Netgalley and by the time I was accepted the urge to read it was gone. Maybe because I already have so many books to read, maybe because I don’t really like the cover? Anyway, to fulfill my side of the deal, I gave Trust a try anyway. And it wasn’t even that bad! I actually enjoyed reading the tale of contemporary fantasy, interwoven with parts of my favorite ancient culture, that of Egypt.

Trust is the story of Anna, a 16-year-old in New York who has been raised very sheltered by her mother. She is home-schooled and only had the experience of making a friend once. Her mother is the only one she trusts. But then one day, she disappears. Anna has to figure out what happened, all the while fighting to stay alive. What does her grandmother, whom she thought to be dead, have to do with this? And what about the strange necklace her mother left her?

The writing style was okay-ish. I was slightly annoyed by the fact that the voice in Anna’s head, Inanna (if you get it) is written in capitals do distinguish it from Anna’s own thoughts. It felt, however, like she was constantly screaming and that was not so pleasant to read. Anna’s own thoughts were not always well written either, there were a lot of redundant words that you normally don’t put in a novel.

In the end it was the story that captivated me. I’ve always been a fan of Egypt, I’ve even learned myself how to read hieroglyphs (a hobby that I plan to pick up later again once I’ve moved to Bremen, Germany, for my PhD). So stories incorporating Egyptian mythology have a plus already. But other than that, I stick with my okay-ish. The stories, characters and writing style were not amazing, but not bad either. Definitely for a debut, this wasn’t a bad shot at all. And hey, it even inspired me to start reading some more (non-fiction) books about ancient Egyptian culture, so you can await reviews of those soon. And I managed to finish Trust in a couple of days and with a good feeling!

Final rating: ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

