Book review: The Witch Hunter (The Witch Hunter #1) by Virginia Boecker

Witch-Hunter-667x1024

The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker
Series: The Witch Hunter (#1)
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (June 2015)
Genre:
Fantasy, YA
Pages:
368

Despite the somewhat negative reviews on Goodreads, I loved the Witch Hunter. The story, set in a fantasy medieval England (Anglia), is engaging, the characters lovable. Witch hunter Elizatbeth Grey is accused of being a witch herself, and thrown into prison. Not just any prison, but the country’s worst, the one that you only get out of when led to be burned at the stake. Fortunately, the powerful wizard Nicholas Perevil comes to her rescue. It has been foretold that she is the one to break his deadly curse. But what if he finds out about her past? And does she really want to help save a wizard?

The whole book I was super engaged and enthusiastic. In the beginning it’s almost hilarious how amateurish Elizabeth and her fellow witch hunter friend Caleb are, fighting with each other as they are about to arrest some wizards. And then they claim to be the best witch hunters in Anglia. Makes me curious how inadequate the rest is. The world is really well put together, I imagined myself being in an alternate medieval England. Together with all the action and the fast pace the story generally has, it was a quick, but enjoyable read.

Again, the main female protagonist falls in love with the first guy she meets. But fortunately, this time it’s not the pretty superhero but the geeky wizard. I start to think that it must be really, really hard not to let that happen, as I see it in every YA book. I understand that it might have been different in medieval times, but you’re not telling me that there were no independent women back then.

But the end… What can I say about the end? It was an anti-climax. It could have been epic, but it was average. A book this quality deserves better. It is hard for me to give my final rating, as my feelings are impacted a lot by the not-so-satisfying ending. But seeing that I absolutely loved the rest of the book, I should really give it a positive rating. And I’m still very much planning to read the sequel, which will be published in 2016!

Final rating: ★★★★☆

*** I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review ***

Leave a Reply

