The Death Cure (Maze Runner #3) by James Dashner

death cure

The Death Cure by James Dashner
Series: Maze Runner #3
Publisher:
Delacorte Press (2011)
Genre:
YA, Sci-fi, Dystopia
Pages:
325

WARNING: as this is part three of a series, the review might contain some spoilers about the first two books!

The first book was amazing, the second mèh. I was curious yet wary about the third and last book of the Maze Runner series. Again we follow Thomas and his friends in the dystopian world, destroyed by solar flares and the mysterious disease the Flare. After having survived the Maze and the Scorch, he is fed up with everything WICKED is trying to tell him. But what can he do? And what do they still have in store for him?

James Dashner really tried to make an ending of some sort, but it left me hugely unsatisfied. It was really an anti-climax, not the ending that a series that started so great deserved. While the Scorch Trials left me with some hope for this book, it was in vain. The story didn’t really go somewhere, it just drifted in all kinds of directions. Questions remained unanswered, up to the point where I’m wondering whether Dashner knows the answers himself. The characters left me dissatisfied as well. It was not an issue in the previous books, but as we get to know more and more about Thomas, I realized that I also want to know more about the other Gladers. The writing style remained easy as always, but this did not save the book.

I’ll probably go to hell for this one, but shouldn’t James Dashner have stopped after the Maze Runner? I mean, that one was so good, the story so original. After that it just went downhill.

That’s it, I’ve read enough of this series. I’m not going to write anymore about it and I won’t be picking up the prequel The Kill Order. Sorry for this rant, the next review will be more positive!

Final rating: ★★☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

