The IX by Andrew P. Weston

The IX by Andrew P. Weston
Publisher: Perseid Press (2015)
Genre:
Fantasy, Military Science Fiction
Pages:
596 pages

I don’t know what my problem with this book was. It had everything I’m usually looking for: a good, original story. Very well written. Full of surprises. And yet it could not grasp me. I don’t know why, but I just did not find it interesting. And that made it very hard to finish 596 pages.

Debut author Andrew P. Weston draws up a world where soldiers from different historical eras are taken away from Earth, just moments before they would have been killed. They are transported to a planet in a faraway galaxy. The original inhabitants of this planet have been destructed by the hands of an unstoppable enemy, the Horde. The soldiers face an horrifying future: find a way to overcome the Horde, or die.

Why did I not like The IX? Maybe because it is very technical about different historical and futuristic periods. Without much prior knowledge it is hard to really get into the story. Especially the start was therefore quite confusing to me. Thereby the genre of Military Science Fiction was something that I had not encountered before. The elaborate discussions and details about various weapons, strategies and military affairs made the story quite slow and unnecessarily complex.
Some aspects of the story were quite implausible to me. I was quite surprised that this advanced society that Weston sketches has absolutely no clue about the biology or anything else of their enemy. And as soon as the new arrivals come into play, they figure it all out.  

But then the story itself was very original. The enemy, the Horde, was very well thought out. I had not encountered anything like it before. And as I mentioned, the writing style was excellent and the story well developed. Weston clearly knows what he is talking about. Therefore I have come to the conclusion that if Military Science Fiction is your thing, you will absolutely love this book. But as it is not mine, I had to drag myself through the pages and I felt an enormous relief when I finally finished it.

Final rating: ★★☆☆☆

*** I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review ***

Leave a Reply

