Delirium (Delirium #1) by Lauren Oliver

delirium-lauren-oliver

Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Series: Delirium #1
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Genre: YA, Dystopia, Sci-fi
Pages: 441

Yes I found another one! Young adult dystopia that is original and written by an excellent author. Delirium tells the story of Lena, a girl in a world where love is seen as a disease. Fortunately, there is a cure. Administered to every person at the age of 18, after which they never have to worry anymore about the deadliest disease of them all. The disease that kills both when you have it, and when you don’t.

The style is very similar to other YA books as the Maze Runner but not less enjoyable because of that. It’s an easy to read book and easy to follow story. Especially recommended after a though day at work, to have a good relaxing moment. Though I have to say that it is highly addictive as well, so please don’t plan anything important in the following days. Delirium is also very well written. No weird sentences and a good amount of tension building.

The main theme is one that lies close to my heart; freedom. The freedom to live your life as you want it. To have the career that you want. With a partner you choose for yourself. All those things have been taken away from the people in Portland. No freedom over anything, except maybe what they make for dinner. Worst part: they don’t even recognize it themselves. And while this is a situation in which we all agree (hopefully) that this is not how things should go, there are situation like this happening nowadays. And sometimes when we ask ourselves why we do things in a certain way, the answer is, because we always do it like this. Or, that’s how our society works. Though the faults of our society are nothing compared to the world Lauren Oliver is laying down, it’s good to think about our own society critically. Also the points we perceive as being normal, or being necessary to maintain order.

Back to Delirium, which has received very mixed reviews. Though most people are very enthusiastic, others hate it. Seems to be a typical you hate it or you love it scenario. Well, I loved it! And I think that if you enjoyed books like the Maze Runner and other YA in general, you will too!

Final rating: ★★★★☆

5 thoughts on “Delirium (Delirium #1) by Lauren Oliver

  1. I’m actually not that well acquainted with ya dystopian novels. The only two I’ve read is the The Hunger Games trilogy and The Uglies series, I did like them okay but they didn’t leave me in thought. However I have heard this series to be pretty great and it really does seem like a fun story. Plus, I have read some of Lauren Oliver’s work before and enjoyed them. Have you ever read her standalone novel, Before I Fall? It’s not dystopian but you may like it!

    • I haven’t read Before I Fall yet, but it is definitely on my to-read list. Lauren Olivers writing style is very nice to read anyway, probably even if it’s not dystopian. And the Uglies are on my to-read list too actually, hope I will like it 🙂

      • I read The Uglies series in my preteens and didn’t see the appeal of ya then, so that could have contributed to my indifference towards them. I hope you enjoy them and Before I Fall though! ^.^

  2. Pingback: Summer reads 2015 – Part one | Magic Moon Boat

  3. Pingback: Uglies (Uglies #1) by Scott Westerfeld | Magic Moon Boat

Leave a Reply

