Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

PB cookies

Do you know the feeling when you have a particular product in your pantry for ages and it is just waiting for you to do something with it? I had that with a jar full of peanut butter powder (if you know PB2, mine was about the same but then without added sugar). Problem was, that I didn’t like to add water and use it on my sandwich, way too tasteless, yuck! And I didn’t really know what else to do with it. Looking on the internet, I found some recipes for cookies using peanut butter powder. Even though I love peanut butter cookies (I made a different type using real peanut butter earlier), none of the found recipes was to my liking. As a had a huge jar of the stuff anyway, I decided to experiment a little and just make my own creation. After a couple of batches, I now have the perfect recipes for peanut butter powder cookies! Their texture is amazing, crunchy yet melting in your mouth. The taste reminds slightly of peanut butter, but does not overdo it. They are gluten-free and can easily be made dairy-free as well. What more reasons do I need to come up with for you to give them a try?

20150227_154530

Let’s bake!


Peanut butter cookies
Preparation time: 10 min
Baking time: 15 min
Total time: 25 min Ingredients:

  • 1 cup peanut butter powder
  • ½ cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 100 gram butter (I used a dairy-free vegetable margarine)
  • 2 tbsp milk (any type you want, I used soy milk)

Preheat oven to 180°C. Get yourself a baking sheet with baking paper. Mix together the peanut butter powder, baking powder, sugar, vanilla and salt. Add the butter and knead thoroughly. Add the milk to make a firm, slightly sticky dough. If the dough is too dry, add some more milk. If it is too wet, add some peanut butter powder. Roll small balls of the dough in your hand and flatten on the baking paper. Repeat until you finish the dough, I managed to make 12 out of this recipe. Bake for 15 minutes in the preheated oven, but be sure to check if your cookies aren’t burning. 20150227_154525

Don’t they look amazing? Enjoy and please share your thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

    • I hadn’t heard from it before I bought this jar either! Apparently it is made by squeezing the oils out of peanuts and then dehydrating and grinding the residue. It’s supposed to be a ‘healthier’ variant of peanut butter, but to be honest, without adding some butter and sugar it’s quite tasteless 😛

Leave a Reply

