Super delicious dairy-free courgette brownie

rsz_1rsz_hiqrcq1426193783

Woohoo, my first recipe on Magic Moon Boat! 😀

Though I often eat sugar free, I do sometimes make exceptions. Not just because I think that nothing should be done literally 100% of the time, eating healthy included, but also because I think that I should not push my beliefs on others. So a couple of weeks ago was the last day in uni. My first master thesis, done! Yay! These last few months went so fast, but I had a great time. After two weeks of rest at my parents’ place I just moved to Switzerland! I live in Lausanne now, and my first impression is really good. The weather is absolutely fabulous and the people are really nice (and most of them even speak English). Bad timing I guess to move now from the Netherlands to Switzerland, with all the currency thingies going on. As the currency of Swiss francs and Euros is now almost 1:1, everything is about 20% more expensive than it was about two months ago. At least, that is if your income is in euros of course. On top of that I saw a news article that Switzerland wants less immigrants from the EU. Luckily I’m still a student and not planning to stay for more than a semester 😉

But on to the baking of today, the courgette brownie that was shared with all my beloved colleagues and friends at the university. And they loved it! I made a huge amount, but before half the day was over, nothing but a few crumbles were left. I first discovered this type of brownie when one of my best friends decided to become vegan. Apart from the fact that I absolutely had no clue how to cook or bake anything without milk/cream/eggs/etc, most recipes that I could find would either have these super long ingredient lists or just some elusive ingredients that I had never even heard of. But courgette I knew. Even though the idea of putting vegetables in any sweet recipe gave me the buggers, I gave it a shot. And it was wonderful! After that I discovered may more recipes with vegetables, including black beans, carrots and chick peas. One day I will share all those recipes with you as well!

I made a dairy-free, but non-vegan variant today. Vegans might want to substitute the eggs for some vegan milk, but I haven’t tried this myself.

Let’s bake!


Courgette brownie

Preparation time: 10 min
Baking time: 35 min
Total time: 45 min

Ingredients:

Brownie

  • 125 ml vegetable oil
  • 300 gr caster sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 40 gr cocoa powder
  • 250 gr flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 medium sized (+- 300 gram) grated courgette

Icing

  • 60 gr cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp honey (or any other sweetener)
  • 80 gr coconut oil

rsz_20150224_142228 20150224_142918 20150224_143323

Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease a large baking dish.

Mix together the oil, sugar and 2 teaspoons vanilla in a bowl until well blended. Combine the cocoa, flour, bicarbonate of soda and salt in another bowl.

Stir into the sugar mixture and add the eggs. Fold in the courgette. Spread evenly into the prepared baking dish.

Bake for 35 to 40 minutes in the preheated oven, until brownies spring back when gently touched.

For the icing: melt the coconut oil and add the cocoa powder and honey. Give a good stir and pour over the brownie.

20150224_160936

Enjoy and please share your thoughts!

One thought on “Super delicious dairy-free courgette brownie

  1. Hey there! This recipe look awesome!

    I wanted to send a quick note and see if you would be interested in reviewing The World Cooking Project. It’s a groundbreaking way to cook with people from around the world without ever leaving your own kitchen.

    If you’d like to know how it works, please check out our website: http://www.theworldcookingproject.com/#!how-it-works/cnl8

    I really think that your readers would enjoy hearing about it, so please let me know if we can work something out. Thanks a bunch!

Leave a Reply

